Church News - The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

15 Mormons serving in U.S. Congress

Published: Saturday, Jan. 8, 2011

E-mail story

It's easy. Send a link to the story you were just reading to a friend. Just fill out the form on this page and we'll send it along.

Your name and e-mail address are transmitted to the recipient. Otherwise, it is considered private information; see Privacy policy.

The majority leader of the U.S. Senate and the most senior Republican senator are two of the 15 Church members serving in the 112th United States Congress this year. The members were sworn in Jan. 5.

Courtesy Harry Reid, All
Senator Harry Reid, accompanied by his wife, Landra Reid, is sworn in for his fifth Senate term by Vice President Joe Biden. Sen. Reid is the U.S. Senate Majority Leader and the most powerful Church member in Congress.

Sen. Harry Reid, D-Nevada, the majority leader of the U.S. Senate, was elected to his fifth term and has served since 1986.

Now in his sixth term as Utah's senator, Orrin Hatch was first elected in 1976. He is the former chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee.

LDS members of the U.S. Senate

Other Latter-day Saint senators include:

Sen. Mike Crapo, R-Idaho, elected in 1998.

Newly elected Sen. Mike Lee, R-Utah.

Sen. Tom Udall, D-New Mexico, elected in 2008.

LDS members of the U.S. House

Latter-day Saints serving in the U.S. House of Representatives include:

Rep. Rob Bishop, R-Utah, elected in 2002.

Rep. Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah, elected in 2008.

Rep. Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., elected in 2000.

Rep. Dean Heller, R-Nevada, elected in 2006.

Rep. Wally Herger, R-Calif., elected in 1986.

Newly elected Rep. Raul Labrador, R-Idaho.

Rep. Jim Matheson, D-Utah, elected in 2000.

Rep. Buck McKeon, R-Calif., elected in 1992.

Rep. Mike Simpson, R-Idaho, elected in 1998.

Rep. Eni Faleomavaega, D-American Samoa, is one of five territorial representatives in the House. He is in his 13th term as American Samoa's nonvoting delegate.

LDS Governor

Utah Governor Gary Herbert was sworn in for his first term as a governor Jan. 3.

Click here for another story on Governor Herbert. He is currently the only Latter-day Saint governor in office.

Mike Lee, a newly elected Church member in the Senate, had not held a political office prior to being elected.

A native of Provo, Utah, Sen. Lee is a graduate of Brigham Young University. He has been a constitutional lawyer in Utah and Washington, D.C.

Raul Labrador, a newly elected Latter-day Saint in the U.S. House, is a native of Puerto Rico.

Educated at Brigham Young University, he received a law degree from the University of Washington. He most recently served in the Idaho House of Representatives.