Church News - The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Area presidency assignments

Published: Saturday, Sept. 7, 1991

E-mail story

It's easy. Send a link to the story you were just reading to a friend. Just fill out the form on this page and we'll send it along.

Your name and e-mail address are transmitted to the recipient. Otherwise, it is considered private information; see Privacy policy.

The First Presidency has announced the creation of two new areas and new assignments in area presidencies worldwide, effective Oct. 1, 1991. The new areas bring the total number of areas in the Church to 22. (Please see story on page 4.) The new Asia North Area is shown on the map in orange, and the new Europe Mediterranean Area in red. The realigned Asia Area is shown in green and the realigned Europe Area in purple. The Europe North Area, shown in yellow, consists of the former United Kingdom/Irreland Area with the addition of the Nordic countries.

Each area prresidency is shown. The president of each area is listed first.1. Utah North

Merlin K. Jensen

Malcom S. Jeppsen

Charles Didier

2. Utah Central

Loren C. Dunn

Ben B. Banks

Lloyd P. George

3. Utah South

L. Aldin Porter

Angel Abrea

George R. Hill

4. North America Northwest

Hugh W. Pinnock

Yoshihiko Kikuchi

Robert E. Wells

5. North American West

John H. Groberg

Jack H. Goaslind

Douglas H. Smith

6. North America Central

H. Burke Peterson

Hartman Rector Jr.

Graham W. Doxey

7. North America Northeast

F. Enzio Busche

Lynn A. Sorensen

Robert K. Dellenbach

8. North America Southwest

Glen L. Rudd

W. Mack Lawrence

Cree-L Kofford

9. North America Southeast

John R. Lasater

Alexander B. Morrison

Stephen D. Nadauld

10. Mexico

F. Burton Howard

Horacio A. Tenorio

F. Melvin Hammond

11. Central America

Ted E. Brewerton

Carlos Amado

Jorge A. Rojas

12. South America North

William R. Bradford

Gene R. Cook

Julio E. Davila

13. Brazil

Joe J. Christensen

Harold G. Hillam

Helvecio Martins

14. South America South

Jacob de Jager

Lynn A. Mickelsen

Eduardo Ayala

15. Europe North

Jeffrey R. Holland

Gerald E. Melchin

Kenneth Johnson

16. Europe/Mediterranean

Spencer J. Condie

LeGrand R. Curtis

Joseph C. Muren

17. Africa

Richard P. Lindsay

J Ballard Washburn

Earl C. Tingey

18. Europe

Hans B. Ringger

Albert Choules Jr.

Dennis Neuenschwander

19. Asia

Merlin R. Lybbert

Monte J. Brough

John K. Carmack

20. Asia North

W. Eugene Hansen

Han, In Sang

Sam Shimabukuro

21. Philippines/Micronesia

L. Lionel Kendrick

Vaughn J. Featherstone

Durrel A. Woolsey

22. Pacific

Douglas J. Martin

Robert E. Sackley

Rulon G. Craven